Gemma Hurst is the CEO and co-founder of PageProof

Deep dive: workflows

Everyone on a proof, no matter what their role is, can view the proof and use the red pen to add their comments. Some people on the proof can have a different role so let’s look at those roles and how they affect the proof’s workflow: reviewer, mandatory, gatekeeper and of course, the final approver.

Deep dive: workflows

10:11

Permission roles

Reviewer

A reviewer is someone you’re asking to view and comment on your proof. They don’t affect the flow of the proof through the workflow.

A reviewer will see this button:A reviewer will see this button:
Reviewers simply click their green finished button when they are finished proofingReviewers simply click their green finished button when they are finished proofing

Mandatory

The workflow step will stop and wait for all mandatory reviewers to finish reviewing the proof before the proof moves on to the next workflow step.

A mandatory will see this button:A mandatory will see this button:
Approvers and gatekeepers can click their green send to do list button if they have proof changes to sendApprovers and gatekeepers can click their green send to do list button if they have proof changes to send

Gatekeeper

This reviewer decides whether the proof continues on to the next workflow step, or is returned to the proof owner with to-dos.

A gatekeeper will see one of these buttons:A gatekeeper will see one of these buttons:
Gatekeepers can click approve and send on to keep the proof traveling through the workflow routeGatekeepers can click approve and send on to keep the proof traveling through the workflow route

Approver

This reviewer gives final approval on the proof. They decide whether the proof is approved as is, or is returned to the proof owner with to-dos.

An approver will see one of these buttons:An approver will see one of these buttons:
The approver can click the approve button to give final sign-off on the proofThe approver can click the approve button to give final sign-off on the proof

Inviter

Displayed next to each reviewer in the workflow is the inviter icon. This icon lets you know whether they are able to share the proof by adding other reviewers into the workflow. Rest-assured, only the reviewers and proof owners that you see in the proof’s info pane will be able to see and comment on the proof. No-one else*.

*Forwarded email invitations or url links will not work for anyone who is not officially added to the proof. PageProof’s unique encryption technology ensures this level of security is achieved on each and every proof, no matter what plan you are using.

Best practice

Most proofs use a workflow that contains reviewers and the occasional mandatory reviewer.

Note: the more mandatory reviewers involved, the longer the proof will take to finish the workflow since everyone is required to review it!


Gatekeepers are typically used for the role of creative directors or internal approvers – people who must check the proof and decide whether it will move on through the workflow, or need changes made to it first.